Please log in
Email:           Password:    
 Keep me logged in at this computer       Forget your password?  Click here and we'll email it to you.
flightwise logo
UTC(Z)02:16
EDT22:16
CDT21:16
MDT20:16
PDT19:16




 
  Search    
     

Quick Track

Flightwise News


Skip Navigation LinksPOW! > Home > Plane XML API Overview

PlaneXML Flight Data API: Overview

Flightwise is the longest-running web-based flight tracking provider on the net today.  Since 2000, we've been supplying the aviation community with real-time flight tracking data, and our services and features have been seen on all the major new networks, including CNN, MSNBC, ABC, CBS, and NBC, and have been used in many forms of news media around the world, including such newspapers as the Washington Post, the Financial Times of London, the New York Times, and others, just to name a few.

Flightwise is now making its flight data available to programmers and developers through its new PlaneXML Flight Data API .  This API uses the common SOAP/WSDL technology used to deploy most of todays web services.



Access

In order to access the PlaneXML web service, you'll need to have registered on the flightwise.com website, and you must also have requested an API key.



Web Service Definition (WSDL)

To access the PlaneXML web service, you'll need it's WSDL markup. You can obtain that here:

PlaneXML WSDL (version 1.0, as of 8/20/2009)



Implementation

Once you've plugged in and wired up, refer to the PlaneXML API reference documentation (updated 7/20/2009) for a list of functions and their returned values.



Rates

Billing for the PlaneXML API is based on a per-transaction fee.  The more you use, the less expensive each transaction is.  Users are billed once a month immediately following the prior month's usage.  Below is a breakdown of the charges per transaction;  As an example, if you had 5 aircraft that you polled for position reports once every 5 minutes, your bill would be $69.12 per month.  If you polled those same aircraft once every minute, your bill would be $178.56 per month.

Number of Transactions per Month Cost Per Transaction
  Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3
0 to 9999 $.0200 $.0080 $.0025
10,000 to 49,999 $.0180 $.0040 $.0012
50,000 to 249,000 $.0160 $.0020 $.0008
More than 250,000 $.0150 $.0017 $.0003


Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3
  • RecentFlights
  • FlightPlans
  • FlightStatus
  • FlightInfo
  • FlightPath
  • Search
  • AirportsNear
  • AirportInfo
  • FlightsNear
  • Registration
  • PhotoList

Flight Tracking Aero Info Pilot Services Scheduling And Dispatch Operations Home | Contact | Login | Toolbox